12 New Temples Announced by President Nelson!

12 New Temples Announced by President Nelson!

(Feature photo of the Conference Center by Rory Wallwork.)

This weekend’s General Conference has been full of surprising, exciting and inspired changes to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints! The big change to a two-hour worship service has been one of the biggest changes, which was announced during the Saturday morning session of conference. But other than that, you may or may not have heard the wonderful news that was announced during the Sunday afternoon session of the October 2018 General Conference. In case you haven’t, we’re excited to share it with you!

As the final session of the Church’s 188th semi-annual general conference came to a close,President Nelson announced plans to build 12 new temples! They will be located in Mendoza, Argentina; Salvador, Brazil; Yuba City, California; Phnom Penh, Cambodia; Praia, Cape Verde; Yigo, Guam; Puebla, Mexico; Auckland, New Zealand; Lagos, Nigeria; Davao, Philippines; San Juan, Puerto Rico; and Washington County, Utah.

This is the largest number of temples ever announced on the same day, and the news brings the total number of Latter-day Saint temples operating, announced or under construction to 201. This comes exactly 18 years to the week since the Church completed its 100th temple. With seven temples announced during the April 2018 general conference, a total of 19 temples have been announced this year.

In addition to the announcement of 12 new temples, President Nelson said pioneer generation temples would be renovated. “With the passage of time, temples are inevitably in need of refreshing and renewal. To that end, plans are now being made to renovate and update the Salt Lake Temple and other pioneer generation temples,” he said. “Details on these projects will be shared as they are developed.”

These twelve new temples will bring the total number of temples that are operating, under construction, or announced to 201 temples worldwide. There are currently 159 temples in operation and 23 under construction or announced. There are no plans to dedicate any new temples in the United States this year, but the Concepción Chile Temple and the Barranquilla Colombia Temple will be dedicated in October and December, respectively. There are also eleven temples that are currently closed and receiving major or minor renovations (they are still considered operating temples). These temples will be re-dedicated when the work is finished. Among others across the world, in the United States these temples include the Baton Rouge Temple, Memphis Temple, Oakland Temple, Oklahoma City Temple, Raleigh Temple, and Washington D.C. Temple.

Mendoza, Argentina

When the Mendoza Argentina Temple is built and dedicated, Argentina will have four temples. The Buenos Aires Argentina Temple was dedicated in 1986, while the Córdoba Argentina Temple was dedicated in 2015. The Salta Argentina Temple was announced by President Nelson in April 2018. Argentina, a country of nearly 45 million residents, is home to nearly 459,000 Latter-day Saints.

Salvador, Brazil

After the United States (6.7 million Latter-day Saints) and Mexico (1.45 million), Brazil is home to more members (1.39 million) of the Church than any other country. There are six operating temples in Brazil, located in Campinas, Curitiba, Manaus, Porto Alegre, Recife and São Paulo. Two temples are under construction (Fortaleza and Rio de Janeiro), and two others have been announced — in Belém and now Salvador.

Yuba City, California

The Yuba City California Temple will be California’s eighth temple. The state’s other seven temples are in Fresno, Los Angeles, Newport Beach, Oakland (under renovation), Redlands, Sacramento and San Diego. California is home to more than 760,000 Latter-day Saints and nearly 1,300 congregations.

Phnom Penh, Cambodia

This will be Cambodia’s first Latter-day Saint temple and the ninth temple in Asia. More than 14,600 Latter-day Saints live in the Southeast Asian nation of more than 16 million people.

Praia, Cape Verde

This will be the first temple in Cape Verde, a set of islands located about 350 miles off the northwest coast of Africa. Some 14,700 Latter-day Saints live in this island nation of 539,000 people.

Yigo, Guam

This small island territory in the Western Pacific is less than half the size of the Salt Lake Valley and has a population of 166,000 people. Missionaries from the Church of Jesus Christ first arrived in 1957, and today there are more than 2,500 Latter-day Saints in Guam. This will be the territory’s first Latter-day Saint temple.

Puebla, Mexico

This will be Mexico’s 14th temple. The country’s other 13 temples are in Ciudad Juárez, Colonia Juárez, Zapopan, Hermosillo, Mérida, Mexico City, Monterrey, Oaxaca, Ciudad Madero, Tijuana, Tuxtla Gutiérrez, Boca del Rio and Villahermosa. The country is home to nearly 1.5 million Latter-day Saints spread throughout almost 2,000 congregations.

Auckland, New Zealand

The Auckland New Zealand Temple will be the country’s second Latter-day Saint temple. The first temple, built in 1958 in Hamilton, closed in August 2018 for renovations. The Church has had a presence in New Zealand since the 1850s. Today, more than 114,000 Latter-day Saints live in the country.

Lagos, Nigeria

The Lagos Nigeria Temple will be the second temple in Nigeria and the ninth in Africa. There are temples currently operating in Aba, Nigeria; Johannesburg, South Africa; and Accra, Ghana. The Kinshasa Democratic Republic of the Congo Temple is scheduled to be dedicated April 14, 2019. The Durban South Africa Temple is under construction. Plans have been announced to build temples in Harare, Zimbabwe; Nairobi, Kenya; and Abidjan Ivory Coast (Côte d’Ivoire). Church membership in Africa has grown from a handful of members in the late 1970s to more than 611,000 Latter-day Saints today (including nearly 174,000 in Nigeria) in more than 2,000 congregations.

Davao, Philippines

With this announcement, the Philippines has six temples announced or dedicated, including Cebu City, Manila (2), Urdaneta and Cagayan de Oro. There are more than 780,000 Latter-day Saints in this country of more than 107 million people.

San Juan, Puerto Rico

This will be the first temple in Puerto Rico, a Caribbean island of more than 3 million residents and over 23,000 Latter-day Saints. The nearest temple to Puerto Rico is the Santo Domingo Dominican Republic Temple.

Washington County, Utah

This will be Washington County’s second temple; the other is in St. George, Utah. As the Church’s world headquarters, Utah has 2.1 million members of the Church in a state of 3.2 million people. There are 17 operating temples in the state, including Bountiful, Brigham City, Cedar City, Draper,Logan, Jordan River, Manti, Monticello, Mount Timpanogos, Ogden, Oquirrh Mountain, Payson,Provo City Center, Provo, St. George, Salt Lake and Vernal. The Saratoga Springs Temple was announced at the April 2017 general conference, and the Layton Utah Temple was announced in April 2018. The new temple in Washington County will be Utah’s 20th Latter-day Saint temple.

7 New Temples Announced, Including the Layton Utah Temple | President Nelson announced plans to build 12 new temples, located in Argentina, Brazil, California, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Guam, Mexico, New Zealand, Nigeria, Philippines, Puerto Rico, and Utah.